Sunshower

I deceive myself
The first drop a warm kiss to the cheeks
I convince myself
The second to wash me clean of sorrow

The third blisters my smile
The fourth torches the heart
And I slowly dissolve
In the rain that drowned the sun

Can’t hold back tears
With a smile, can’t pretend

Tears that don’t burn the cheeks
Burn the heart instead
Like the sun that singed the rain

I managed a laugh
My laughter is
A rainbow after a sunshower
A lie that everything is fine


People see me as a cheerful person.
But only I know, that deep inside,
there is more rain than sunlight.

Sometimes, the pain is so deep,
it doesn’t even warrant a frown on the surface.


Image by: Bronwyn Murphy

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

